top of page

What's Your Population?

In my own little world it hardly ever rains.

I've never gone hungry, always felt safe.

I got some money in my pocket, shoes on my feet.

In my own little world: population--me.

I try to stay awake during Sunday morning church.

I throw a twenty in the plate, but I never give 'til it hurts.

And I turn off the news when I don't like what I see.

It's easy to do when it's population--me.

What if there's a bigger picture?

What if I'm missing out?

What if there's a greater purpose

That I could be livin' right now?

Outside my own little world.

Stopped at a red light, looked out my window.

I saw a cardboard sign that said, "Help this homeless widow."

And just above that sign was the face of a human.

I thought to myself, "God, what have I been doin'?"

So I rolled down the window, and I looked her in the eye.

Oh, how many times have I just passed her by?

I gave her some money, then I drove on through,

And my own little world reached population two.

What if there's a bigger picture?

What if I'm missing out?

What if there's a greater purpose

That I could be livin' right now?

Outside my own little world, ooh, my own little world, yeah.

Father, break my heart for what breaks Yours.

Give me open hands and open doors.

Put Your light in my eyes, and let me see

That my own little world is not about me.

What if there's a bigger picture?

What if I'm missing out?

What if there's a greater purpose

That I could be livin' right now?

I don't wanna miss what matters.

I wanna be reaching out.

Show me the greater purpose,

So I can start livin' right now

Outside my own little world, my own little world, my own little world.

Matthew West's "My Own Little World."

If we see the world with our own eyes, it's going to just be our own little world. If we ask for help to see with God's eyes, we'll realize a much bigger world that we're a part of. the world we'll see once we do that isn't going to be as hunky dory. It's going to be more complicated. But it'll be more beautiful because of that.


bottom of page